THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIG BORE FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Big Bores    Terminal Bullet Performance
Page 1 ... 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 ... 304

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Terminal Bullet Performance Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Dave Bush
posted Hide Post
Oh lord! I am just getting into the light and handy. Now, Nom Coms? Michael, and old man can only take so much change at one time... Eeker

Dave
DRSS
Chapuis 9.3X74
Chapuis "Jungle" .375 FL
Krieghoff 500/.416 NE
Krieghoff 500 NE

"Git as close as y can laddie an then git ten yards closer"

"If the biggest, baddest animals on the planet are on the menu, and you'd rather pay a taxidermist than a mortician, consider the 500 NE as the last word in life insurance." Hornady Handbook of Cartridge Reloading (8th Edition).

Posts: 3728 | Location: Midwest | Registered: 26 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dave Bush:
Sam and Michael:

I gotta tell ya that I am having an awfully hard job wrapping my mind around the "non com" concept. During my entire life, the quest has been to find a bullet that holds together over a wide range of velocity. . . I am not sure that I am down with the notion of the "non com" which is DESIGNED to shed the petals.

QUOTE]

Had some problem with this one myself. Here's what I think is going on:
The older bullets didn't peal in a controlled manner leaving a solid core to continue to penetration. The older bullets completely fragmented in a completely unperdictible manner, many times on the skin or very near the skin of the animal! This left a wounded and very angry animal with which to deal. In the case of a DG, this was a very bad thing.