New
Find
Notify
Tools

Long range shooting made easy.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Just another way of explaining the wind effect on the bullet is, think of it like MOA, a small movement at the rifle has a larger difference down range. If that push is caused closer to the target the less the change will be.I know there is lots more variables but this is how I was explained when I started shooting F Class 5 years ago. I hope it makes a little clearer for some people
E.g. shooting 1000 yards,if the bullet gets pushed an inch at 900 yards it will move effectively 9 inches on the target, similar to mid range wind if the bullet was pushed an inch at the 400 yard mark it would only be moved a 4 inches on the target.

Hope it makes sense, pretty simple I think anyway

RUNAS

War is inevitable, if idiots are in charge of countries

Posts: 162 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 15 March 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
if the bullet gets pushed an inch at 900 yards it will move effectively 9 inches on the target

Sorry, I don't understand this! Do you mean pushed an inch at 100 yards?
peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10510 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I think if you substitute MOA vs Inch it would be clearer?? 1moa @ 400=4" and 1moa @ 900=9", but not sure of the point being made here??

Posts: 1050 | Location: S.Charleston, WV | Registered: 18 June 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
This general concept/system is very interesting, but, IMO, has little application to hunters. Obviously it has military use but I think it is waaay beyond what I would call an ethical hunting tool, even assuming it does all it is claimed to do.

xxxxxxxxxx