THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    New Double (Sabatti) - Advice
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Double (Sabatti) - Advice
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Nemo .450
posted
Greetings all. I have made so bold as to put DRSS in my signature line, according to the membership page on the DRSS website, but would like some affirmation.

I have very little practical knowledge about doubles (though plenty in theory), and would like some advice.

I just got my fist double a few weeks ago.
It is a Sabatti .450 ejector weighs right at 9#. Upon receiving it, I noticed some serious problems...

1-The back trigger wouldn't work
2-Inconsistent ejection,sometimes the right ejector would eject when I had not pulled the trigger.
3-The recoil pad is too hard and too thin.
4-The gun is wee bit on the light side
5-The last and least problem is the sights.

I got the trigger problem fixed by a local gunsmith. The ejection is still inconsistent, but I am going to let the same gunsmith fix that, too.
I am going to install a 1" Pacmayer and am thinking about a mercury recoil reducer.
I widened the rear V and filled the line with white fingernail polish. I plan to replace the front sight.

The questions I have are:

Are ejectors that important on a dangerous game rifle? Why? or Why not?

Should I install a mercury recoil reducer? If so what weight?

Are there any other practical modifications y'all would suggest?

Apologies for the huge post (and the first one at that). Any and all advice and comments would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him. -- John 3:36