Notify
Tools

470 NE Penetration Tests
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of capoward
posted Hide Post
Pererdk,

Myself, I have zero African hunting experience and enjoy reading about the experiences of others to increase my knowledge and to hopefully eliminate errors in my hunt should I ever make it there.

I initiated this thread for the benefit of the DR users based upon the work of Mike70560 and his double 470 rifle. If you read the full thread you will identify some good discussion and some not so good discussion. Regardless of how each perceives the validity of Mike70560’ testing work, he has conducted a service for those with an interest in optimizing their rifle/cartridge combination to assure the best hunt possible. It is there for the taking or the leaving.

Michael458 does test momometal bullets that have been proved acceptable in new DRs that are also unacceptable to older DRs. However he has tested three brands of monometal bullets that that by design are not harmful to DR barrels whether new or old; these three bullet brands are GS Custom, North Fork Technologies (all solid and all cup point, plus their new 50 caliber soft point expanding), and the S&H Super Precision.

Feel free to jump over to the Big Bore Forum and read Michael458’s Terminal Bullet Performance thread…it is long but also very informative. Michael458 does provide side-by-side displays of recovered bullets from his testing materials and from hunted animals. You can make your own decision as to whether the testing methodology has any proven relationship to real world hunting…

Jim coffee
"Life's hard; it's harder if you're stupid"
John Wayne

Posts: 4954 | Location: Central Texas | Registered: 15 September 2007Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
shooting media to test bullet performance in media is just that.

this is about the results of bullets shot into a defined media.

no one is challenging anyone's manhood over not, or shooting of, elephants.

#dumptrump