New
Find
Notify
Tools

30" cull buck
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Thought this was an interesting deer. A little history first. Me and my hunting partner have the hunting rights to over 30,000 acres in the panhandle of Texas where he lives. We have been watching this particular buck for two years now. Last year he was a typical 2x2 with brow tines, no kickers or abnormal points, he was heavy and wide and mature and obviously a buck that needed to be taken out of the gene pool. We never did get to take him last year. This year back in November we had a picture of this deer on a trail camera. This year he had developed crab claws on 3 of his main points and 3 kickers off of the back tines. He was obviously wider and heavier. I decided this was the deer I wanted to take. I rodeo for a living and was in Las Vegas competing at the National Finals Rodeo for the first 15 days of Dec, then christmas, new years etc....With all of this I never got back to the panhandle to hunt this deer until the last weekend of season (for those of you that are Texans and are know that mule deer season is closed, we have MLD permits which allow us to take Mulies until Whitetail season closes) My hunting partner had been trying to find this deer for the last month to no avail. I got to the ranch on this past Friday at 4 we went to the area where we he had seen the buck in Nov. and by 5:30 we had him on the ground. The deer ended up being 30 1/2" wide with 11 scoreable points. He ended up being 6 1\2 years old and was in my opinion a genuinely great cull buck. Hope yall enjoy the story.

6x NFR Qualifier
NFR Champion
Reserve World Champion Bareback Rider
PRCA Million Dollar Club
02' Salt Lake Olympic Qualifier
and an all around good guy!

Posts: 354 | Location: Fort Worth, TX | Registered: 12 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You might consider him a cull, but I rather like him and would consider him a fine trophy actually.

Brent