New
Find
Notify
Tools

alone
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
given the option would you do a pack hunt alone ?

Posts: 291 | Location: wisconsin  | Registered: 20 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have been backpacking and backpack hunting alone since 1964 and worked in very remote BC-Alberta wilderness alone for extended periods since 1965. I enjoy backpack solo hunts, but, it is NOT for everyone.

I would give one simple bit of advice here and it is that, IF, you feel strongly that you would be in danger when backpack hunting solo, then, LISTEN to your intuition and go with partner(s) on simple, local hunts, gradually building your skills and confidence and NEVER be ashamed to turn around and come home if you become unsure that you can cope with the situation you are entering.

I have seen a number of VERY experienced BC mountain people, the REAL kind, come out in a bag on a chopper and more inexperienced "macho" types as well. Here, in BC, hunters get lost and are never found fairly frequently and NO amount of bravado will compensate for over-reaching your abilities or being under-equipped.

Remember, this is about FUN, not about scaring yourself shitless just to prove something to the stoolwarmers at the local tavern.....

Posts: 2366 | Location: "Land OF Shining Mountains"- British Columbia, Canada | Registered: 20 August 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of SGraves155
posted Hide Post
Usually, if far from home, I try to at least make camp with a friend, although we may hunt in opposite directions.
One of the times that I was hunting solo in the lower 48, I fell off of a small bluff when rocks gave way.
When I woke up, I was happy to find that both legs still worked. Luckily, I knew the way to a house that was not a mile away. Spent a week in ICU with multiple rib fractures, skull fracture, etc. Had this been in really remote country, the results would have involved even more misery than they did.