New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mental Preparation
 Login/Join

Picture of JasCald
posted
First of all, before I start my first thread (I am a newbie), let me say that I really appreciate all of the previous topics posted in this section! I have found a place to seek feedback from an extremely knowledgeable audience that is willing to help.

Okay, now on with my topic. I started backpack hunting two years ago, and I can say that I honestly still have very much to learn. I feel that I can continually work on the areas that I know I need to develop further (pack weight, physical preparation, map / GPS skills, shooting proficiency, etc....) but I feel lost when trying to figure out how to prepare mentally.

This might be a bit embarrassing for me but I am going to have to set the stage here: Last year I was attempting my fist "long" (for me) trek into the wilderness for Mule Deer. I was doing this solo, as all of my trips are, because my friends are too lazy for backpacking or hunting (maybe if I could get a keg back into the wilderness they would show up!). I was already a bit edgy about being alone from the possibility of falling and breaking a leg or getting struck by lightning (my biggest fear in the high country during the September monsoon season) without having anyone to go for help. I also ended up with a bit of altitude sickness the first day (lack of physical preparation?) and could not catch a break in the weather for over the first 24 hours. I did get a chance to glass up some deer the second morning across the basin and was preparing for a stalk when another thunderhead rolled in. The storm brought with it some heavy lightning. It felt like bombs were exploding all around me. Finally, after a lightning strike at a very uncomfortable distance, I decided that I was out of there. I hiked four hours back to my truck at the trailhead and hunted the remainder of my time out of base camp (with no success).