New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shootin' & Snarin' hogs at my lease
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Due to circumstances I've not been able to hunt as much this year as normal. However I did have a chance to go to my lease with one of my buds three weeks ago or so.

Shortly after we got there, we went out and set some snares for hogs. We've been having pretty good luck snaring.

After that we came back, sat by the fire, smoked a cigar and had a couple of toddies, then went to bed.

I've been hunting the same stand for the last 5 years and have killed tons or hogs there. Lately I've not been getting much action. So, I found a new area that no one has hunted in the last 5 years. I call it the cliffs as it is on the side of a sheer rock face about 75' above a streambed that runs parallel to the rock face. I overlooks a bowl of about 500 acres.

I've set up two spin-cast feeders for hogs. This one is about 160 yds out.

And boy are they comin' in. Saturday I got up and rode to within about 1/4 mile of my stand. Climbed up the side of the hill in the dark with the aid of a GPS and got ready. Fog rolled in so I couldn't see anything for about an hour after sunrise. However this sow came in with a bunch of piglets. A big bore was hanging around but he never would come in. I watched the bunch for about five minutes and decided to take one. Nailed him between the shoulder and ear with a 140 gr. accubond out of my 7-08. DRT. No pix for this one though.

Later on we went and checked the snares, two were tripped and nothing to show, but the third caught this young boar.

We dispatched the boar and my bud loaded it up on his ATV and it was back to camp to dress him out.

Shot one more Saturday evening, here is the pix of that one.

Did the campfire and toddy thing saturday nite along with marinated pork tenderloin, grilled corn on the cob, baked potato and beans. Slept in late Sunday morning.
Boy my wife thinks deer camp is tough sledding. Don't anyone tell her different.
GWB