Find
Notify
Tools

Tanzania 06
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of SGraves155
posted
Am headed for Kigosi area this July for cats/buff/PG using Wendell R as consultant. My questions to members regard the selection of weapons and the use of antimalarials.
I plan on taking bolt action 375 H&H and 458 win mag, but also have a double rifle in 45/70. Should I take the double for follow-up on lion/leopard, or stick with one of the bolt actions ? (the newer 45/70 loads are about 3700 ft.lbs)
On antimalarials, I plan on using doxycycline daily, with quinine as back-up in-case of development of symptoms. I am a physician, but would appreciate the views of the experienced travelers. I know Wendell came close to death from malaria on his trip to the same area. I don't know what prophylaxis he was using.
Also, ForrestB, thanks for your great pictures from masaiiland last year. I had to postpone that hunt, but Wendell was able to arrange the kigosi hunt without loss of deposit.
Any comments on the area or trophy selection would be appreciated. SGraves155

Steve
"He wins the most, who honour saves. Success is not the test." Ryan
"Those who vote decide nothing. Those who count the vote decide everything." Stalin
Tanzania 06
Argentina08
Argentina
Australia06
Argentina 07
Namibia
Arnhemland10
Belize2011
Moz04
Moz 09

Posts: 8100 | Location: NW Arkansas | Registered: 09 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Michael Robinson
posted Hide Post
I'd stick with the bolt actions and leave the .45/70 at home, or take a light plains game rifle instead, if you want a three rifle battery. In particular, if push came to shove and worse ran to worst and I had to follow up a lion (again Big Grin ), I'd take the .375.

High velocity and soft point bullets are hell on cats. They are comparatively fine boned and highly strung animals. So, if I were you, I'd take the .375 loaded with good, but not too hard, soft point bullets, like the Nosler PTs.