New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Dog --
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
New, about six weeks ago. Ginger is a 3 yr old (near as we know) "Red Heeler" or Australian Cattle Dog. Sometimes called "Queensland." The breed was developed from kelpies and dingos about 1856 in Australia, for cattle herding.

Ginger has some German Shepherd mix in her. She's smart, strong, agile, affectionate, loyal, protective. Adopted from a shelter, she's had problems with placement -- she's energetic and needs full-time attention from someone willing to train her and work with her. Previous adoptions had her locked in the garage while the owner worked. She also didn't integrate well with an "established pack" of "house dogs."

I'm a disabled veteran, and so she works as a "Service Dog." ADA specifies in the USA that any dog who assists a disabled person is legally viewed as a "Service Dog." The only qualifications are that the dog be under control, well behaved, not aggressive. Ginger does all that, and more. She's excellent around children, cats, other dogs, strangers.

What's nice about this status is that she can accmompany me everywhere (We don't do restaurants.) and not have to stay in the vehicle.

Off the leash, without the "service cape," and out on the beach with the ball chucker, she becomes "The Rocket Dog."

WOOF . . .

Posts: 1005 | Location: A Little Bit Left of Karl Marx | Registered: 16 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
When someone posts a photo about their new dog it's socially appropriate, "good manners," and indeed expected that you say something complimentary.

Posts: 1005 | Location: A Little Bit Left of Karl Marx | Registered: 16 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of SGraves155
posted Hide Post
Nice solid looking dog. Besides the natural companionship and protection she provides, does she have any other training commonly associated with "service dogs"---is she able to help with any physical disabilities?

Steve