Notify
Tools

alaskan malamute hunting
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of peterdk
posted
hi all

i was wondering if anybody here is using malamutes for hunting, and had any special tips.

im a dog trainer and got 20+ years of expirence with hunting dogs, buth the malamute is a new challenge for me.

the pup will be at my place in 4 ½ weeks, and i start the first training and selection in 1 ½ week at the kennel.

anything you can share about the breed i would love to know.

best regards

peter

Posts: 1336 | Location: denmark | Registered: 01 September 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of gumboot458
posted Hide Post
........What are you going to train it for .???????In my experience they are naturally gifted at things like eating cell phones and hand held VHF radios ,, killing cats ,,,killing birds ,,,fighting relatively constantly ,,,,,,,,running game animals to death .,.,.,sleeping ,,,,,,,if they have a good coat on bare ice @ 40 below and not melting a ring in the ice ........................................But .......they can sure be good bear dogs who will fly thru thick , thick, conifer brush to fight a brown bear and run it off ...............They will naturally do things to a big bear that a hound will run from ......................I think it,s just a natural thing with them ...............If you can get a husky and mix it with a golden retriever thats about the best I,ve found ,,, Maybe a wolf / golden retriever cross ........................................If you are asking about an official bread then I don,t know weve got lots of dogs that are called huskies that really don,t look like they are ,,,but they can sure run ...............when a husky hunts it has a plan of eating what it,s hunting ,, or at least killing it ...........I don,t know if they would hunt like a game dog does .....???????? thats my 2 cents worth ....

.If it can,t be grown , its gotta be mined ....