THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    monometal solids in double rifles
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

monometal solids in double rifles
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mrlexma:
JPK, I believe that I understand what you are saying concerning the Barnes Banded FN Solid bullet's construction.

And it is definitely hard.

I would not use it in a double rifle.

But I don't shoot a double. Cool

You elephant hunt, so you should! Wink

JPK

Free 500grains

Posts: 4900 | Location: Chevy Chase, Md. | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Dave Bush:
JPK:

What do you think of Hawk softs for a double?

Dave

Dave,

I have no experience with Hawk bullets. But I understand that they are cup and core, with various jacket thicknesses availble for different rates of expansion. If they are cup and core, I would use them. I use Hornaday 350's loaded using the 75% formula for fun and practice.

450NE No2 uses them regularly in his doubles, perhaps he will chime in. He reports that they work well for him, iirc. BTW, he turned me onto the 75% formula.

Also, like 400 Nitro Express, I didn't think you were being argumentative, only drawing out my reasoning and others' reasoning. Nothing like a good back and forth discussion to get to the bottom of things.

JPK

Free 500grains

Posts: 4900 | Location: Chevy Chase, Md. | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MacD37
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by RIP:

.[/QUOTE]