Find
Notify
Tools

What to do with it? 300 SAUM
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of MyNameIsEarl
posted
My brother has a 300 SAUM on a 700 action. He has not need for the rifle and rarely shoots it. They are not popular so he is considering having me rebarrel it to something else. He has a 28 Nosler, 7x57, .223, and a 22-250.

We are not afraid to wildcat a little so was thinking about a 6.5 SAUM or a 6mm SAUM. If we did that it would be a good Couse Deer/Antelope/Mule Deer rifle.

Give me some thoughts. I have limited experience with wildcats, my only one I have is a 6.5-06. Would like to find something that McGowan or Douglas can short chamber without having to have special dies made and sending them dummy rounds to cut the chamber.

Being it is short action, kind of limits the choices but please give me some ideas?

Posts: 751 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 05 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
One potential problem with a 6mmand this based on 6/284 compared to 6mm/06.

I had both the 6mm/284 and 6mm/06 and several times and in switch barrel style bench gun.

For 6mm/06 just used 25/06 brass and 284 Winchester brass for the 6mm/284.

I could very get the same level of consistent accuracy with the 6mm/284. I necked to 6.5 and them to 6mm as one neck down would collapse the sharp shoulder of the 284. On two occasions and two different barrels (Heavy varmint taper0 were chambered for 6mm/06 and then after about 75 - 100 shots were rechambered to the 6mm/284 and simply not as good as the 6mm/06.

I put the difference down to the bigger necking down and probably stresses in the neck. Remember a fired 6mm/06 is only very slightly smaller than a new 25/06 case.

Should add that is they were in normal light barrel hunting configuration rifles then probably no difference would have been seen.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Sydney Australia | Registered: 14 September 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted Hide Post