Find
Notify
Tools

Quick Detachable Rings for Picatinny Rails
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Hannay
posted
I now have several takedown bolt-action rifles with Picatinny Rails. (An HS-Precision in 338 WM and Merkel Helix in 308). I used Warne Quick Detach Rings, specifically these:

They seem to work OK, though neither rifle is shooting particularly accurately yet. And, of course, one possibility is the rings' fit to the rail. Again, it seems OK, but I thought I might consider another ring type when I put on different scopes.

Any recommendations or thoughts?

Thanks.

Posts: 721 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 27 November 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi, this is my first message.
I would recommend Recknagel.

Best regards.

One of Us
Picture of Hannay
posted Hide Post

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jeff

Thank you very much for your welcome.
I want to tell you, that I am not an expert in technical matters, I know friend cases that use Apel and have been disgusted by slight marks on the tube; something that did not happen with these rings.
Mechanically they are highly recommended and robust.
I hope it serves.

Best regards.

Manuel.

One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
I found an article on detachable mounts by Terry Wieland and he seemed to like the Warne mounts but warned Smiler they need to be put on very tight, after which you might need a small tool to release them.

They should be fine on a medium calibre like the 338 WM. Manuel's Recknagels might be even better on heavier calibres but I bet the price would rise exponentially.

Posts: 5106 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Hannay
posted Hide Post

One of Us
Picture of NormanConquest
posted Hide Post