Find
Notify
Tools

458 Win 450gr Bullet
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Will's light 458 Win got me to thinking. Wink

Any comments concerning the use of 450gr bullets in the 458 Win Mag for ele?

Given a SD of over .3 and the fact that it is no trouble to get 2200 with RL-15 it seems like a very good bullet for the WM.

Any comments from the experts??

Brett

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Brett,
I am no expert and have never owned a .458 (have shot a few), but if I owned a .458WM I would use a 450gr GS FN for a solid and then a good 450gr soft. This weight sees to be the way to go with the WM.

I would stay away from 500gr bullets as they seem to be too long, although some guys get it worked out and reach 2100fps. I reckon 465gr is as heavy as I would go.

Just my 2c with no real .458 experience!

Posts: 1274 | Location: Alberta (and RSA) | Registered: 16 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of asdf
posted Hide Post
I've often wondered why the .458 WM was saddled with such a heavy bullet; the case is none too big to start with. At 460 gn the SD matches that of many successful African cartridges such as the .465 and the .470. Given the improvements in SN bullets, I imagine 450 gn would be adequate.

Posts: 978 | Location: U.S.A. | Registered: 01 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Will
posted Hide Post
Except for the desire to use a mono solid, not sure why one would choose a 450 gr. bullet. It is no problem getting 2150 fps in a 22" barrel with traditional 500 gr. bullets anymore.

I don't know the history of mono bullets but supposedly the 500 gr. mono would not be or was not stable in flight.

I think at one point there was some question whether the 500 gr. 475 bullet would be stable but I've shot those into paper from almost point blank to 25 yards and never saw any hint of keyholing.

Now that Barnes(?) has a 500 gr. .458 bullet, I wonder if they have experienced any instability.