New
Find
Notify
Tools

First 476 AR
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have attached some pictures of my recently completed 476 AR.

It is a shortened 416 Rigby case necked up to .475. I actual use 450 Dakota brass as a starting point.

This is one of Jeffesso's creations and I was lucky enough to put the first one together.

I am an amateur builder at best but I get my pleasure by at least trying!

The action is a 1939 marked, VZ24. The magazine is modified from an Accurate International magazine that was for a 338 Lapua: same parent case. DPCD modified it and the military bottom metal to feed the 476 AR. It will hold four down.

Front sight is a NECG with a red fiber optic insert and the removable open hood. The rear peep is mounted to the cocking piece and is adjustable for windage and elevation.

I did not put the rear swivel mount on prior to the photos. I did not realize it until after I took the pics! It is a Dakota made swivel base.

The rifle weighs somewhere between 9 1/2 and 10lbs.

You can get the dimensions from one of Jeff's posts by clicking the appropriate link at the bottom of his posts.

Many thanks to Jeff for his help with this project. Without him this would not have been possible.

Posts: 1464 | Location: Southwestern Idaho, USA!!!! | Registered: 29 March 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of boom stick
posted Hide Post
Holy smokes Batman! Love that mag!
Other than the magazine, it is quite a svelte package.
What is your load goal? 500@ 2,300fps?
Could you do 2 down with a flush plate?
Awesome job tu2 tu2

577 BME 3"500 KILL ALL 358 GREMLIN 404-375

*we band of 45-70ers* (Founder)
Single Shot Shooters Society S.S.S.S. (Founder)

Posts: 27596 | Location: Where tech companies are trying to control you and brainwash you. | Registered: 29 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Based on what the 500 AR will do;they should be very similar with the same weight bullet, I would say 2400 with a 500 and 2000-2100 with a 600gr.