Notify
Tools

Mauser 98
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of londonhunter
posted
Can I pick the expert's brains here

I like to chamber a Mauser 98 action in 416 rigby not the magnum action.

Can this be done safely and is there a version of mauser I should start from like belgium etc

thanks

Posts: 1661 | Location: London | Registered: 14 February 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I own a vintage Parker Hale rifle cal. 375 HH, made on a M98 military action, that seems to me considerably altered in lenght. Since the 416 Rigby cartridge is 3.8 mm longer, I would say that it could be hardly "stretched" some more, not to mention the issues of getting it feed reliably, due to the fatter case. I would certainly prefer to buy a brand new CZ 416 Rigby rifle, but I'm not an expert.

Posts: 1459 | Location: north-west Italy | Registered: 16 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 458Win
posted Hide Post
I know that Rigby made a few 416's using standard length M-98's and there is a standard Belgium made M-98 chambered in 416 Rigby floating around here in Alaska. Writer Ray Ordorica even wrote a piece on doing it in a back issues of Gun Digest - so it can be done - but most gunbuilders today shudder at the idea of doing it.

Anyone who claims the 30-06 is ineffective has either not tried one, or is unwittingly commenting on their own marksmanship
Phil Shoemaker
Alaska Master guide
FAA Master pilot
NRA Benefactor www.grizzlyskinsofalaska.com

Posts: 4202 | Location: Bristol Bay | Registered: 24 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'd like to hear from other makers on this issue. Never have been commisioned to do so, but feel the conversion is possible and safe to do so. Remember, the 416 Rigby is not a particularily high pressure round. Yes, I too, have seen examples of this conversion

Posts: 2221 | Location: Tacoma, WA | Registered: 31 October 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Westpac
posted Hide Post