Find
Notify
Tools

Long-range Game Managment Rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 333_OKH
posted
Okay. As you might know I am a WLDF Biologist. From time to time I have been working on exotic removals for ranches and large landowners. Recently we purchased a large tract of land and an additional lease that covers over 11,000 acres. On this land we have feral hogs, Spanish goats, and a yet to be determined number of odd sheep. I can see damage to the streams and especially the seeps and springs. Additionally, there are areas that are over grazed and the oaks show signs that replacement of is not happening. From the carcasses [bones], the mountain lions and coyotes have been doing a great job (that is another story), but the ferals are way ahead of the lion’s capacity to keep them in check. I will be submitting consultation and permit requests soon for the removal of these animals.

The terrain is very open, with wooded draws and creek bottoms, but when I was scoping it recently I found that getting within 300 yards was very difficult and time consuming. This does not aid in efficient and effective removal of the animals and ultimately they will get ahead despite my efforts.

Okay. As you might know I am a WLDF Biologist. From time to time I have been working on exotic removals for ranches and large landowners. Recently we purchased a large tract of land and an additional lease that covers over 11,000 acres. On this land we have feral hogs, Spanish goats, and a yet to be determined number of odd sheep. I can see damage to the streams and especially the seeps and springs. Additionally, there are areas that are over grazed and the oaks show signs that replacement of is not happening. From the carcasses [bones], the mountain lions and coyotes have been doing a great job (that is another story), but the ferals are way ahead of the lion’s capacity to keep them in check. I will be submitting consultation and permit requests soon for the removal of these animals.