New
Find
Notify
Tools

Calling it "English" walnut?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Am wondering where the term "English Walnut" came from for Juglans Regia and when it started. I grew up as a gun crank with the expressions "'French", "Circassian", sometimes "European". Reading Whelen, Keith, OConnor, etc., right up through and past mid 20th Century you do not encounter "English". In fact my impression is that it is an artifact of perhaps the last twenty or maybe thirty years.

And as a matter of logic it offends me as scarcely any of it grows or ever grew in the British Isles.

Am thinking of starting a movement to rename it, maybe to, generically, "European". Or how about "King Walnut" or better, "Imperial Walnut".

And don't get me started on the dumb usage "ghost ring" !!!

Posts: 1233 | Registered: 25 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm not a walnut expert or historian, but calling it "French" walnut seems no more correct than calling it "English" walnut. "European" is probably a better description, but does its range include parts of Asia as well?

All I know is that wood from Turkey looks different than wood from California. I suspect that there are several regions that grow walnut with somewhat unique and identifiable traits.

Posts: 1366 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: 10 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I think the name comes from the nuts of the tree, that are used for baking, candies, etc. They are called "English" walnuts, as opposed to "Black" walnuts.........Speaking of Black walnuts, I just ate a brownie, my wife made, that was chock full of black walnuts.......It don't get any better than that! Grant.

Posts: 336 | Location: SE Minnesota | Registered: 15 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 333_OKH
posted Hide Post