Find
Notify
Tools

Please help me get started checkering
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted
I would like to checker a stock on a M98 sporter. I have never done this before and have no tools. This will be a basic pattern in about 22LPI. Was thinking of getting a starter set from Brownell's or Midway and Brownell's used to sell checkering templates but I don't see them listed now. Would you recommend getting one of the books or DVDs? Which tools are best? Are the templates still available? Thanks for any help.

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3830 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of JBrown
posted Hide Post
Blacktailer

Les Brooks(who posts here) sold a nice checkering tutorial that was on a flashdrive. It was $25 and contained a lot of other great stuff. You might try sending him a pm.

One of brownell's basic kits would be a good start. Brownells also sells a nice little booklet on checkering. I don't remember the name, but the guy on the cover is a dead ringer for Christopher Walken(the actor).Monty Kennedy's book The Checkering and Carving of Gunstocks is a classic. I believe brownells carries it.

Jason

"You're not hard-core, unless you live hard-core."

Hunting in Africa is an adventure. The number of variables involved preclude the possibility of a perfect hunt. Some problems will arise. How you decide to handle them will determine how much you enjoy your hunt.

Just tell yourself, "it's all part of the adventure." Remember, if Robert Ruark had gotten upset every time problems with Harry
Selby's flat bed truck delayed the safari, Horn of the Hunter would have read like an indictment of Selby. But Ruark rolled with the punches, poured some gin, and enjoyed the adventure.

-Jason Brown