New
Find
Notify
Tools

476 AR
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have this posted in the wildcatting forum. I received pm's suggesting I put it here in the gunsmithing forum. So here it is!

It is a 1939 marked vz24 chambered in Jeff's 476 AR. it is actually the first 476 AR. This is a shortened 416 Rigby case opened up to .475

The rifle has a 338 Lapua mag that was modified by DPCD to accept the 476 AR. The parent case is a 416 Rigby like the Lapua. It holds four down and feeds perfect!

The front sight is a NECG with a red fiber optic insert and the rear peep is mounted to the cocking piece and is adjustable for windage and elevation.

I did not realize, until after I took the pictures, that I had not installed the Dakota swivel base on the rear of the stock!

I am an amateur at best so don't beat me up to bad. I enjoy trying though!

The wood is a piece of English I purchased at Walnut Grove Gunstocks in Weiser Idaho; forum member christrees. I have three rifles; this one, a Ruger No 1 30-378 and a Montana PH 550 Gibbs, all out of this tree.

Posts: 1464 | Location: Southwestern Idaho, USA!!!! | Registered: 29 March 2012Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I love the marble cake figure in that stock!

Have you shot it?

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have fired some 600gr solids out of it,
It was before the stock was finished and the mag added. I had to single feed them by taking bolt out then putting the case under the extractor and putting bolt back in. It was a pain! Had to do fire forming that way as well.

It is manageable but stout, very stout!looking at the primers it was not a max load.

I am going to Cast some bullets for it for squirrels and other vicious critters.

Posts: 1464 | Location: Southwestern Idaho, USA!!!! | Registered: 29 March 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Nice rifle, but what is the box hanging underneath?