New
Find
Notify
Tools

Amateur stock shaping - Show and Tell
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm an amateur worker on guns, occasionally do a stock on one of my guns just because I'm too cheap to pay someone good. Thought I would do a show and tell as I do one to maybe encourage someone to try it, the results are worthwhile and there's a real satisfaction in doing it yourself.

The stock is a cherry wood semi-inletted blank that I bought on ebay for $65 including shipping. It was a heavy, fat blank that is just plain obese. Rounded forend, rounded cheekpiece, mushroom shaped grip, too thick in the wrist, too thick on the sides. There's a marilyn monroe hiding in the rosie O'donnell fat. At least, I think so.

At the point of the first pictures, I have already inlet the action in, inlet the barrel, and drilled for cross bolts. That's at the point where I thought of doing this thread.

Here's where I slabbed a lot of the extra wood off the forend. Also have cut a big slab off of the cheekpiece.

Here's the shaping tools for the rough work. Use the spokeshave to cut the corners off, round to shape, and thin. Then, rasps to rough in the shape and smooth it up a bit.

Here's the tools I will use for the detail work.

Posts: 1104 | Location: Eastern Oregon | Registered: 02 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
ssdave,

Looks good so far. Just not sure why you chose cherry for the stock. Any notion will suffice. The only cautionary I have is to be careful using power tools so close to your final dimensions. At this stage, noting the action is inlet, your stock should be covered with that black inletting stuff. Also, your kitchen table and forehead. Care to explain the lack of such? Keep up the good work. I do the same as you, my wife makes me a cheapskate.

Stephen

Posts: 538 | Location: Pacific Northwet | Registered: 14 August 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Lord Frith:
ssdave,