Notify
Tools

Input Variables
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of DPollard
posted
I am new to long-range shooting.

I am curious to know what you all use as input variables for calculating your drop chart on any given day/atmospheric condition to make a first round hit at long-range?

What are the bare minimum inputs a person needs to get an accurate solution for a first round hit?

I have a kestrel 2500 which will give me pressure, altitude, temperature and wind speed. I use this in conjunction with "Shooter" app for the iPhone. However, it doesn't give me accurate data to have first round hits out at 700 yds and beyond. Once I "true" the velocity it works great but I want to figure out how to get first round hits at distance without having to true the velocity every time I got out to shoot. Most people I have talked to said to adjust my velocity to make the drop table work, however, I can't know how much to adjust velocity to make the drop table work if I don't know where I am hitting...

How many of you use Density Altitude?

Sorry if this post seems to be frazzled and all over the board. I am trying to make sense of this all, especially since every time I go out to shoot the atmospheric conditions are different so what worked one day will not work the next day. How do I overcome this?

Posts: 209 | Registered: 10 January 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Others with more experience will chime in I am sure, but my gut feel and limited experience suggests that computers by themselves will not give the answer. They will get you close, but for a first round hit the solution they give must be verified by empirical evidence ie. testing.
By first round hit, what size target are you talking about? At 700 yards I would think that you are talking about a 7 inch bullseye, with perhaps a larger aiming point.
The Tracking Point system may have achieved better results but I can't remember.
Just my 2 cents.
Peter.