New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gunwerks LR-1000 7mm LRM
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Now that the 7mm LRM has been out for a while with the new Berger Hunting 180gr VLDs, does anyone have any "first hand field experience" with the cartridge and/or LR-1000?

I am considering a LR-1000 in the LRM as a quick solution for a 600yd - 1000yd hunting platform.

Thanks!

Just Remember, We ALL Told You So.

Posts: 22442 | Location: Occupying Little Minds Rent Free | Registered: 04 October 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
Picture of Big Wonderful Wyoming
posted Hide Post
I have zero experience with their stuff. I have been messing with long range shooting for a few years, mostly F-Class. Some 1000 yard, and some 300-600 yard fly shoots.

These guys have put their dues in and I think they are building quality rifles. For a turn-key situation it is probably ideal. Price is steep.

I think they are $5500 plus scope and mounts.

If turn-key is important to you then do it.

If not here's another option.

Prices are approximate:

1. Action Surgeon, Defiance, Stiller, Badger, Pierce, Nesika $1000-1500.

2. Barrel and installation $750-1500 bottom end of Schneider, Benchmark, Lilja or top end if you want carbon fiber from Proof or Christensens.

3. Trigger $100-350 Jewell, Timney, Shilen or a 2 stage.

4. Bottom metal $50-450 for Badger A-5 to cheap Remington take off.

5. Cerakote $150-250

6. Stock $300-1500

7. Bedding $ up to 450

Total will be between $2450-7500. Money isn't everything to everyone.

They are probably a fair representation of what is a fair price for a modern CNC built semi-production rifle.

Posts: 7768 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
BTW, I am not claiming that Proof and Christensens are top end, I am saying they are the top end of the price point.

Posts: 7768 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post