New
Find
Notify
Tools

Light 30-30 Bullets?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Decided it was time to get a lever action, have a Marlin 336 in 30-30 on the way. First lever gun, complete newbie to levers... My Dad had an old Savage 340 bolt rifle, to the best of my knowledge nothing but 170 grain bullets went through it. Got some of those on the way, Sierras, figured I,d try the Privi brass..
Part of the appeal of the 30-30 as opposed to a 45-70, was the thought that I could make some nice light loads that Ma Bear would enjoy shooting. She did not dig the 9.3...
So I,m lookin for info, recommendations, 130 grain Speer flat point? 125 grain Sierra flat nose?
My natural inclination for hunting is 170 grain flat nose, but, we have blacktail deer around here. Probably 150, maybe up to 200 lbs. So I,m wondering about the 125-130 grain bullets for deer?.. Smaller deer.
Like the looks of the 125 grain Sierra for the plinkin, practice, maybe hunting idea, but have some concerns about availability of that bullet.
Anyhoo, probly enough ramblin on my part.
Any thoughts, ideas, or suggestions?

Posts: 806 | Location: Ketchikan, Alaska | Registered: 24 April 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of michael458
posted Hide Post
Muttly

A few weeks ago I did some load data on the new .308 100 gr ESP Raptor from Cutting Edge Bullets. The 100 gr bullet is designed with the 30/30 in mind, although it works extremely well in other .308 caliber rifles. While I have several 30/30s, my test rifle is a Win 94 Legendary Lawman 16 inch barrel. I love these little guns!

Now, while you mention light bullets, 100 is light, however the 100 ESP Raptor does not know that it is light for caliber, and out performs any conventional bullet available in .308 caliber in 30/30. Terminals are incredible for a bullet of it's class. In turn, the Raptor may be loaded as a solid as well! ESP stands for Enhanced System Projectile, and enhanced it is.