New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bear Charge
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
Okay, I watched the movie. Shoot into the dirt!? F#@* idiot? I will first admit I have zero experience with grizzly's, but it didn't look like there was much time to think about what to do. The guy made an honest attempt to stop the charge and shot when the bear was too close for any other response. Sometimes shit happens, and it is always easy to criticize after the fact. It looks to me like a damn good thing he did shoot.

Posts: 866 | Location: Western CO | Registered: 19 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have lived in Alaska for 30 years, have taken lots of game, love to hunt, back up hunters for a living. BUT, every time I see a staged hunt with bad shooting and "for film" decisions, I feel bad. True, Mr Allen did his job of protecting his clientelle (Cabella's), but probably felt just as bad as I do. The client was so nervous or inept that he couldn't even chamber a second round. WOW !! Is that all we have left ????

i'd rather be lucky

Posts: 84 | Location: alaska | Registered: 10 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of M70Nut
posted Hide Post
And if you watched the bowhunting portion where he arrowed that big bull, you can see that the guy wasn't a very good shot. 2 very marginal shots and 1 very good one, i can't say that I blame the guide for not letting him shoot the brownie with his bow.

"We band of 45-70'ers"

Posts: 845 | Location: S.C. Alaska | Registered: 27 October 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Good on everbody involved that no-one was hurt or killed for that matter. As far as Mr. Allen "backing me up any day". Heck yeah, if he were to back me up on one of his next 8 hunts.
(Thinkin' he may have cashed in one of his "9" lives on that cabelas episode.)

Boy, how we act when it hits the fan!