Find
Notify
Tools

A frightening experience...
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of retreever
posted
Many know me here and this happened to me this past weekend...I was debating whether or not to say something about this experience..
I have been shooting bigbores since 1999 and moved up to a double rifle in 2005 having shot a 375 and 458 Lott... I am no expert on doubles but have been able to control recoil very well and practice what I preach.. I have shot 450#2, 450/400, 500NE, and a 577NE and have never had any problem..
Well I was shooting with 577NE and Doc 52 when this occured.. Shooting the 577 I did not hold it properly for a front trigger pull and I doubled the 577NE... I was wearing ear protection with the circuit breakers in and only heard one shot... Now here is the scary part... Upon doubling the 14 pound rifle flew out of my hands like I was not holding on...Did a full 180degree turn and struck 577N.E. in the chest...then fell to the ground...I was afraid of a discharge not knowing the rifle had fired both barrels... Then if the rifle had hit 577NE, Paul Jr. in the face the front sight would have caused a serious facial wound...
I now feel better after examining over and over in my mind what happened and lead up to the double discharge...
A safety recommendation is to stand to the left or right of the shooter and not directly behind...
A humbling experience...

Mike

Michael Podwika... DRSS bigbores and hunting www.pvt.co.za " MAKE THE SHOT " 450#2 Famars

Posts: 6768 | Location: Wyoming, Pa. USA | Registered: 17 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 577NitroExpress
posted Hide Post
Mike:

I'll shoot with you again any day; I know you can handle the .577.

So...when are we going shooting again?

577NitroExpress
Double Rifle Shooters Society
Francotte .470 Nitro Express

If stupidity hurt, a lot of people would be walking around screaming...

Posts: 2789 | Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 08 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us