THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    Decided to dress up my Baikal
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Decided to dress up my Baikal
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I decided to change the stock on my new 30-06 Baikal, now I am not a stock maker by trade (first attempt at it) bewildered but done a lot of cabinetry and finish carpentry work in the past, so I decided to give it a shot.

Now I had a stock design in mind which I like the way it feels and handle a lot and it fits me to the tee, it is the stock on my 9.3x74R Sabatti. I found out that, It was one of the better stocks that I have felt comfortable holding and handling and was a good fit for me. better than the few doubles that I tried out, even better than my 470 but not by much (gave me more control in the wrist area).

I wanted to have a cast off, so I toyed around with my rifles a bit and felt how they mounted and aimed etc, and settled for a 3/8”right cast off.

I had a piece of walnut laying around in my office, which I decided to use for the new project. Not a fancy piece but quite adequate for a first time trial.

As for tools; well your basic carpentry tools, a table saw, a 5" plane, a jig saw,a chop saw, and a hand saw.

I started working on my new project Saturday the 9th a week ago,6 hours of work brought me this far into it.

Best regards

Malek
Good shooting/hunting and God's best

Best regards

Malek
Good Hunting/Shooting and God's best.

Posts: 812 | Location: Charlotte, NC | Registered: 25 December 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of jjbull
posted Hide Post
I am looking forward to following your progress, Malek.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Give me the simple life; an AK-47, a good guard dog and a nymphomaniac who owns a liquor store.