New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ideas?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new to hand loading but I have some parts and want to create something a little unique. This is what I have........

Remington 700 Long Action
Magnum Bolt
.308 Obermeyer 5R Barrel (Currently chambered in 300WM and threaded for Remington 700)

I was thinking that maybe a 30-338 would work but I'm open to suggestions.

Any ideas?

Robert

Bruz

"Honor,Courage and Character"

NRA Lifetime Member

Posts: 342 | Location: Jawja | Registered: 20 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What advantage would the 30-338 give you over the 300 Win. Mag.?

Posts: 868 | Location: maryland | Registered: 25 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
You would need to set the barrel back to recut a 30-338 chamber. You will lose capacity a little velocity and basically have a 308 Norma magnum with a shorter neck. Sorry nothing unique that I see.

Different yes it is your $$$.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Bent Fossdal
posted Hide Post
If it only needs to be A LITTLE unique, just make the freebore longer, so you can have .300 WinMags that fill out the space in the magazine. Looks cool, and so is the velocity gain with the long bullets.

Bent Fossdal
Reiso
5685 Uggdal
Norway

Posts: 1707 | Location: Norway | Registered: 21 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of boom stick
posted Hide Post
unique and spending lots of time and money go hand in hand in the gun world. if that is no issue than...

Bents idea is good obviously...it came fom Bent so that goes without saying thumb it is the cheapest too.

If you dont like that then how about a 30-7mm STW?

577 BME 3"500 KILL ALL 358 GREMLIN 404-375

*we band of 45-70ers* (Founder)
Single Shot Shooters Society S.S.S.S. (Founder)