New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why not headspace on the mouth?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
So, say you've got .015" thick brass at the case mouth. That's .030" of headspace material.
I hear over and over that you should keep pressures low in cartridges like this, but I can't really see why. Assuming you keep them trimmed to the porper length, and since headspace shouldn't be "zero" anyway, what exactly is the problem?

Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.

Posts: 2000 | Location: Beaverton OR | Registered: 19 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of boom stick
posted Hide Post
some of the factory 45-70 ammo i buy there is a crimp BEHIND the bullet to prevent the bullet going back into the powder area and creating highter preasure under the recoil of +P+ ammo. so if you do a roll crimp i do not see any issue but i am not an expert. this would revolutionize wildcatting jumping

if this were the case...

500 ultramag

500 and 550 lapua and the list would go on...

416-06 ect ect!!!

577 BME 3"500 KILL ALL 358 GREMLIN 404-375

*we band of 45-70ers* (Founder)
Single Shot Shooters Society S.S.S.S. (Founder)

Posts: 27600 | Location: Where tech companies are trying to control you and brainwash you. | Registered: 29 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Actually, that's what brought this up. My uncle wants to make a 416"x57" for a 96 Mauser that headspaces on the mouth. I'm not exactly sure why, but wildcatting seems to be a singularly inexplicable pursuit sometimes.
And so it got me started thinking, "Why exactly not?"
I think I may have talked him into using a 9.3x64 case, but the question still remains.

Posts: 2000 | Location: Beaverton OR | Registered: 19 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of boom stick
posted Hide Post
o.k. now who wants to make the 2.3", 2.5", 2.7", and 2.85" case length headspacing off the casemouth 500 ultramag????

i also like the 416-06'