Tools

Quality 'take down' cleaning rod--UPDATE
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ted thorn:

How do you scratch steel with aluminum??? dancing[/QUOTE]

It is a myth...I have been a machinist/mold maker for 23 years. I know a bit about metals/steel and what cuts them the best/worst.

The joints collect the "CRAP" that you are trying to clean out that is the main flaw.

A multi piece rod needs to be made of a softer metal than that of the 4100 sieries barrel steel ....alluminum, or brass is the choice.[/QUOTE]

I think this covers a jointed rod hurting your barrel. I have a bore scope, and my experience is a lot of barrel 'damage' is mythical.

Posts: 3563 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 02 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Idaho Sharpshooter:
I guess ten years as a staff columnist at Precision Shooting Magazine, and a top-90 (out of 387 shooters) at the Super Shoot (never saw a multi-piece cleaning rod) with a borrowed rifle, and top scores in the bench half at several Schuetzenfest National Championships, and looking at a number of benchrest barrels scored by the grime carried in the joints of multi-piece rods on borescopes, or advice from people like Alan Hall and Ed Shilen and Dan Lilja and a couple dozen benchrest and long range accuracy gunsmiths is pretty piddly compared to your extensive experience sitting in front of your computer monitor or flying in tiny airplanes too small to stick a one-piece cleaning rod in. You ever make it to a Super Shoot you will see hundreds of one-piece cleaning rods being carried in the pvc rod cases. Those guys, like myself, are so dumb we use separate rods for cleaning patches and brushes and use electrical contact cleaner in spray cans to clean the rods between passes.

Being ignorant is okay, but try not to make a career out of it.

regards,

Rich