Tools

DA FUQ! CLARENCE THOMAS Login/Join 
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mike Mitchell:
quote:
Originally posted by bluefish:
Not so fast. If he followed the rules then no foul. If he was found to have violated the rules then we have something to discuss.

If these facts are correct and you really don't think we have something to discuss, rules violation or not, you're not thinking it through. Judges operate under an "appearance of impropriety" standard when it comes to accepting gratuities.

And, Thomas' dealings with this guy stink to high heaven.

Would you want your case against Harlan Crowe heard by a judge who goes on vacations paid for by Harlan Crowe?

Has this justice ever had a case involving Harlan Crow??????

Posts: 41786 | Location: Crosby and Barksdale, Texas | Registered: 18 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
agree that Thomas is not nearly of the intellectual caliber of Scalia- I'm not a lawyer and I can see the difference. But I can't say he's lower than Kagan or Sotomayor.

Snort!!!!

Posts: 41786 | Location: Crosby and Barksdale, Texas | Registered: 18 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MJines
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JTEX:
quote:
quote:
Not so fast. If he followed the rules then no foul. If he was found to have violated the rules then we have something to discuss.

If these facts are correct and you really don't think we have something to discuss, rules violation or not, you're not thinking it through. Judges operate under an "appearance of impropriety" standard when it comes to accepting gratuities.

Would you want your case against Harlan Crowe heard by a judge who goes on vacations paid for by Harlan Crowe?