Notify
Tools

Remington J-Lock Question
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of x-caliber
posted
Hi guys,

I wondered if any of you had ever heard of this before. I have a customized Remington 700 with the J-Lock receiver. I bought the gun brand new, it was a .243 Win 700 ADL, synthetic stocked. I rebarred the action with a #4 Shilen and chambered it in .308 Win., added a pillar bedded McMillan stock, had the action trued and trigger work done. This rifle has the distinct honor of being the most inaccurate gun that I own, factory or custom. I struggle to keep groups under 2". I've been doing load development for 2 years now and it would be cheaper to rebarrel than to continue with this seemingly pointless load development. One thing worth noting, I have shot several 1/2" groups with the gun. However the same load will yield a 3" group on the next round.

It has been sent back to my gunsmith twice who sent it to Shilen once for inspection. The gunsmith has also built a .300 Win Mag on a Pre-J Lock model that shoots consistent 1/2" - 3/4" groups with hunting loads traveling 3100 fps. I couldn't be more pleased with the 300 Magnum and I am amazed at the consistency of the group sizes.

I emailed Hart barrels inquiring about a rebarrel job and explained the situation to them. They emailed me back stating that rebarelling would likely not fix the problem. They went on to say that I might try installing an aftermarket firing pin and spring. Evidently this has corrected some poorly shooting firearms for them.

Has anyone ever heard of this before?

Thanks in advance....

X

Posts: 867 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 10 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
I doubt that a firing pin assy would fix your problem, but if you've got another Remington,(Short action, pre-Jlock) switch firing pin assemblies and shoot it. BTW, what are you shooting as far as bullets, etc. Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote