New
Find
Notify
Tools

Expected 30-06 Accuracy?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
What level of accuracy at 100 yards would be typical or expected of a bolt action 30-06? Put another way, what size groups should I expect at 100 yards? I'm relatively new to this caliber and am just seeking some idea of what to realistically expect from those who have been there, done that.

Posts: 447 | Location: North Pole, Alaska | Registered: 28 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It depends entirely on the rifle. "All other things equal" the 30-06 is supposed to be slightly less accurate than newer cartridges such as the 308 and cartridges developed specifically for match use. But for the average sporter from a bench, well supported, I'd expect grouping to approach an inch at 100 yards.

Posts: 1421 | Location: WA St, USA | Registered: 28 August 2016Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
My usual hunting partner bought a Winchester Model 70 a few years back, it shot about 1.75" groups at 100 yards with factory ammunition. Your mileage may vary...

TomP

Our country, right or wrong. When right, to be kept right, when wrong to be put right.

Carl Schurz (1829 - 1906)

Posts: 14383 | Location: Moreno Valley CA USA | Registered: 20 November 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Cougarz
posted Hide Post
A .30-06 is as accurate as your gun will shoot them.

Roger

*we band of 45-70ers*

Posts: 2796 | Location: Washington (wetside) | Registered: 08 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
4525 October 2017 08:45What level of accuracy at 100 yards would be typical or expected of a bolt action 30-06

There is no typical accuracy for any cartridge.

There are way to many variables in shooting to say such.

If you buy a off the shelve rifle and shoot factory ammo in it. Then you shoot groups 1.75 or better inches you have a very useable hunting rifle.

If you get one the does under an inch you have a really nice shooting rifle.