Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dominant eye
 Login/Join

posted
When I started shooting with my Dad when I was a kid I was right eye dominant. That stayed constant all the way through the Army and for quite some time later. Now that has change to me being left eye dominant. I am right handed and have never tried shooting left handed, maybe I should. Anyone have any experience or feedback on this issue?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ron, there is a way to switch occular dominance....but it involves an eye patch and is a pain in the butt.

Call an ophthalmologist and explain the problem. An opthamologist can determine how severe your occular dominance is through tests. Then he/she can outline what you would have to go through to "train" your eyes (actually the brain). You could then decide if you wanted to do it ...... or just live with the condition.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sorry to answer with a question, but are you shooting primarily pistol, or rifle?

Posts: 806 | Location: Ketchikan, Alaska | Registered: 24 April 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've never heard of eyes switching dominance. That doesn't mean it doesn't happen, of course, but it must be rare. It is the same as someone going from being rt handed to left handed.

At any rate, the first real concern is what are you shooting, and how serious are you about it?
Unless you're at or near the very top echelon of some type of competitive shooting, I would consider the simple solution of simply closing your newly dominant eye.

xxxxxxxxxx
When considering US based operations of guides/outfitters, check and see if they are NRA members. If not, why support someone who doesn't support us? Consider spending your money elsewhere.

NEVER, EVER book a hunt with BLAIR WORLDWIDE HUNTING or JEFF BLAIR.

I have come to understand that in hunting, the goal is not the goal but the process.

Posts: 17099 | Location: Texas USA | Registered: 07 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post