New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need advice on headspace and seating gauges
 Login/Join

Picture of MemphisELK
posted
I am very new to reloading and would like advice on an accurate gauge to determine bullet seating depth. I have seen both the Stoney Point chamber-all and RCBS precision mic but would appreciate information on which will work best. I am reloading 30-06 for a Sako 75 Hunter. I have tried using a wax pencil on the bullet to see where it contacts the rifleing but don't feel that comfortable with the process.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I strongly recommend that if you are "very new to reloading" that you stay with the listed over all lengths for cartridges listed in the various load manuals. You need to have a solid feel and understanding for how things should be using basic reloading techniques.
That said I feel strongly that the better of the two tools you mentioned is the stoney point. But it has limitations.

muck

Posts: 1052 | Location: Southern OHIO USA | Registered: 17 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
memphisELK, I'm pretty sure in a an M-75, if it is factory--meaning the barrel hasn't been altered or replaced, or the rifle rechambered, you won't be able to get bullets seated out far enough to contact the rifling, and still fit in your magazine. Having said that, to find out what that length would be, the stoney point is probably a little easier to use, I have both tools. I don't use either one anymore!

I take a case (this is the method suggested in the Nosler reloading manual) and press the neck of a fired case on my bench until it has a little neck tension to hold a bullet. I then very slowly chamber this 'dummy' round and then very slowly extract the dummy and do this 3 or 4 times to get and average COAL that is to the lands. I then make a note of that, and put it in my logbook, and build my load development rounds with a COAL that is 25 or 30 thou less than that, assuming that fits in that rifles magazine!