New
Find
Notify
Tools

Source or equivalent of Fed215 primers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been trying to get Fed215 primers for some time now, with no luck. Does anybody know who has them in stock?

If not, would there be an alternative primer I could substitute?

I am no reloading expert and always follow the "recipe" from reloading manuals or other reliable sources. Could using an alternative primer create an unsafe load?

One of Us
Picture of billinthewild
posted Hide Post
Google the question....

"When you play, play hard; when you work, don't play at all."
Theodore Roosevelt

Posts: 4263 | Location: Pinetop, Arizona | Registered: 02 January 2006Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
its my experience that over about 80 grains, and certainly above 100, you should use the federal mags.

that being said, I am generally happy with win LRM for smaller cases..

federal is supplying the military with primers, and the hroding since the 2009 eleciton has caused them to disapear, more or less.

you can find them, generally in the 60 per k range, from time to time.

#dumptrump

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 38516 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Labman
posted Hide Post
Normally you can find some for sale on gunbroker.com, but be prepared to dig deep into your wallet.

Tom Z

NRA Life Member

Posts: 2307 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: 07 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yepper, a local shop has them; but at $60 per thousand I am not ready to bite that bullet yet.

Rich
DRSS

Posts: 23062 | Location: SW Idaho | Registered: 19 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post