Notify
Tools

Chronograph help!!!
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Johanv
posted
Hi All,

These are the options for me: CED M2 or Millennium Chronograph or the CHRONY F1, Alpha, Beta, Gamma Chronograph.

Which one would you suggest and why?

Thanks Guys
Johan

Posts: 160 | Location: Johannesburg- South Africa | Registered: 27 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Buy the best. Mine is an Oehler but I don't think they are offered to the public at this time. I haven't kept up with the other brands, but ONLY buy the best regardless of price (within reason of course).

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I've been using the same Chrony for at least 10 years. Almost never misses and is very repeatable.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have had a CHRONY with the separate display (F1 master?) for about 6 years. I've done extensive handload chronographing for 45 colt, 45 ACP, 30-06, 375 RUM and 458 Lott.

Pro:
1) Unit and display seem to work well. I had it out early this November in a rain/snow storm, and the unit still performed flawlessly. I was impressed.

2) CHRONY will help you out if you accidentally shoot the chronograph. I never have, but it's nice of them to do this.

3) Unit & display seem to be well made and durable. They work on a single 9-volt battery, with some sort of R45 jacked cable between them. Would be easy to replace if you damaged it.

Con:
1) The overhead screen setup is flimsy, piece of crap engineering. I would have paid more money for a better screen setup.

If you do buy the CHRONY, I would recommend you get the separate display, and spend a few extra bucks on the carrying case.

Posts: 5184 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 06 August 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post