Notify
Tools

Shooting Cast in my 375 H&H
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Enigma
posted
Hello everyone,

I have a few questions for you experienced cast bullet shooters out there!

I just ordered 200 .376 cal FP GC TLG 265gr cast bullets from The Bullet Barn in B.C. Its my first time reloading cast bullets and I intend to shoot them in my Winchester 70 in 375 H&H... When I ordered the bullet, I was told the mold they used for that bullet was a Saeco. The reason behind this order was to shoot as cheap as possible!!!

Here are my questions:

1) I was told that Unique is a good powder for reduced loads in that caliber, is this true?

2) If one was to use unique, does anyone have some load data for me?

3) Is a filler required with Unique?

The reason I am interested with unique is that I have 4 pounds of it!!!

Thanks for you replies.

Maurice

Posts: 347 | Location: Canada | Registered: 30 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't have experience with the H&H so can only answer in general terms.

Unique is a good for low velocity rifle plinking loads. Like 1000 - 1200 fps. Don't push it too hard.

I can't comment on load data for that cartridge, except to say that I have found Unique to be sensitive to powder charge in all cartridges. Half a grain can make all the difference in accuracy.

I've never used a filler with unique, even though there was a lot of air space inside the case.

The SAAMI H&H chamber has a sloppy throat that is not ideal for cast bullets. However, at low velocities and pressures, that may not be a show-stopper.

Posts: 1095 | Location: Idaho | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Enigma
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info popenmann!!!

1000fps is all I'm after so Unique will be ideal for me I guess!!! All I need to do now is to start casting my own bullets!!! lol.

Maurice

Posts: 347 | Location: Canada | Registered: 30 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Maurice,