Notify
Tools

Smithsonian Lion Article
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of ledvm
posted Hide Post
quote:
Packer, like so many of his colleagues, (including Derr, I’ll bet), suffer from what we used to call in construction, “engineer’s disease”. They get caught up in the details – and can’t see the big picture – the forest for the trees, if you will.

I make my living every single day from interpretting research and applying it to "real-life" situations. And as an equine orthopedic surgeon...due to research...we have gone from a .45 slug to very good bone fixing devices. We went from a .45 slug to above 50% success for most long-bone fractures. All due to research.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
J. Lane Easter, DVM

A born Texan has instilled in his system a mind-set of no retreat or no surrender. I wish everyone the world over had the dominating spirit that motivates Texans.– Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House

No state commands such fierce pride and loyalty. Lesser mortals are pitied for their misfortune in not being born in Texas.— Queen Elizabeth II on her visit to Texas in May, 1991.

Posts: 37821 | Location: Gainesville, TX | Registered: 24 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ledvm
posted Hide Post
quote:
Packer may have the scientific credentials – but he apparently lacks the broad view - or the balls (probably both) – or he’s just being bought off. In any case, he should just publish his data, and otherwise keep his mouth shut.

We have common ground here! Agreed.

J. Lane Easter, DVM

A born Texan has instilled in his system a mind-set of no retreat or no surrender. I wish everyone the world over had the dominating spirit that motivates Texans.– Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House

No state commands such fierce pride and loyalty. Lesser mortals are pitied for their misfortune in not being born in Texas.— Queen Elizabeth II on her visit to Texas in May, 1991.