New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on boots/gaiters
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Leaving the end of this month for SA in the Limpopo area around Lephalale and have a question about boots and gaiters. I was planning on buying some some boots or light hiker's but my Rocky Lacers are on there last leg and I just bought some some insoles for them to make them doable. We will be there the 28th through the 9th of October and I know it will be hot with these leather boots. They have 8" uppers and was curious if I still need gaiters with this high of a boot. I thinking the gaiters are beneficial with shorter boots or sneakers. Due to the time of year and temp I will be wearing shorts if that makes a difference. Insight would be helpful, thanks

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Gaiters keep some trash off your bootstrings, that's it. Nothing to worry about.

Gaiters or not is less important than Scotch or gin in camp.

Administrator
posted Hide Post
I have been hunting in Africa for over 30 years, and have never wore boots or gaiters.

I wear trainers, and they work great.

Light weight too.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 67715 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Frostbit
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SquirrelNut:
Gaiters keep some trash off your bootstrings, that's it. Nothing to worry about.

Please tell us about your experience in Africa. Word is you only hang out in the Political Forum and are a bit tired of getting your butt kicked there so now you are pretending you actually have been in Africa. Please inform us of your experience there. We wait with baited breath.

Otherwise stick with the children that play in the Political Forum.

2015 His & Her Leopards with Derek Littleton of Luwire Safaris - http://forums.accuratereloadin...6321043/m/2971090112
2015 Trophy Bull Elephant with CMS http://forums.accuratereloadin...6321043/m/1651069012