Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WARNING about Northwoods Adventures
 Login/Join

posted
I am sorry that my first post here ever should be a negative one but I wanted to warn hunters about a crooked booking agent, Northwoods Adventures. To introduce myself I am an experienced African hunter and have hunted several times in Africa so I am not a newbie. I responded to the advert below, which is placed in the SCI magazine in more or less every issue. As it seemed like a terrific deal for plains game I decided to book a hunt in Namibia for 2015.

On contacting Mr. Gary D. Strasser he told me that I had to send in a deposit of $1,000 before I was sent a hunt contract. His point being that there were many tire kickers out there and he didn't want to waste time going through the motions! I found this to be a bit odd, but since it was not that big an amount I trusted him and sent him a check. I waited and waited for the Hunt Contract and chased him up numerous times but there was always some excuse. Finally I got fed up and asked him to return my deposit both on the phone as well as via registered letter. He is now refusing to send me back my deposit as he states that as per his website if a deposit is paid it is not refundable! I have never looked at his website and frankly have never heard such utter nonsense, given that a Hunt Contract is typically the binding agreement of what services are provided.

If the man cannot even send me a Hunt Contract, what assurance do I have that someone will be there to meet me when I get off the plane in Africa! Of course after this saga I have no intention of going on a hunt arranged by him.

I have approached SCI and they have said that they cannot stop Northwoods Adventures from advertising, but would be happy to start an enquiry in to the matter, for which I have to pay $500!

I have started legal proceedings against Mr. Gary D. Strasser from Northwoods Adventures but also wish to warn the hunting community about this scam artist.