Tools

Tanzania Lion hunting
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by graybird:
To me it would be the same as someone getting drunk in a bar and climbing behind the wheel of a vehicle. He gets pulled over. Does the bartender pay the fines because he/she served the beer, while the driver only looses his license? Nope, the driver pays for both the fines and loss of license because he called the shot to get behind the wheel of a vehicle.

In some states the bar and bartender are also held responsible for letting a person they have served get behind the wheel. So, as nice as your analogy may sound, it's not true. Back when I worked as a bartender in California we frequently took the keys away from customers and put them in a cab.

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JTHunt:
Whilst in principal shooting plus 5 year old lions is a very good rule, the practical application of this policy is going to be a headache and as per many posts above will definitely make Ph's apprehensive about calling the shot. I just had a hunter take a magnificent lion by stalking a bait at first light. The lion was lying in a river bed 100m off the bait and spotted us as we saw him. I had a split second to judge him and the hunter took him. He was full maned and I estimated his age at between 5 and 6 years old after looking at his teeth.

It was first - early light and the lion was 120 yards from us.

Would I have said shoot if there was a potential $5000 fine hanging over me - NO.

And the hunter would not have got a great great trophy..