THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    results from a point and shoot leica !
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

results from a point and shoot leica !
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of ivan carter
posted
I am an avid photographer and up till this year I have always lugged around a canon camera with a variety of lenses , the last couple of seasons that’s been a canon 7d with a 100-400 lens and a 14 mm wide angle …not what you would call and a light and easy to carry setup ! in short while hunting especially when guiding the hunt its simply too much gear ..

This year based on some pretty strong reviews and also encouragement from leica they offered for me to “field trial” their V-LUX 3 –

It’s a very quick little camera to use ,and has enabled me to reduce the bulk of what I have to carry significantly-

Here are the positives and negatives
Positives
Small and quick to use means overall I am taking more pics and while many many end up deleted a few are keepers , versus undoing my pelican case removing lens cap etc etc

The small size means I have it between us in the front seat all the time .

Excellent color balance and all the required modes if you want “funky”

A burst shooting mode with several frames a second that’s cool with flying birds or high action content

Negatives
The “load buffer” can take a while when you take a pic its about 1/3 of a second to be ready for the next one (except in burst of course)

The manual focus is noty truly maual focus and so its tough to focus through brush and often the camera will focus on a stick or bush in the foreground

Sunsets are tougher as its far harder to fool the camera with regards to the light balance you want