New
Find
Notify
Tools

Leopard Perfect Shot
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Where should you aim on a leopard ideally? I have seen on some videos PHs prefer to aim for the shoulder and on other they ask the client to aim for the heart/lung area.

Posts: 29 | Location: Hunting Grounds | Registered: 09 February 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Depends on the angle, but so far aiming to break the off side shoulder has worked for me.

Posts: 10995 | Location: Minnesota USA | Registered: 15 June 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have only shot one leopard. So, I'm no expert. The heart is a little farther back on the cats than on the antelopes. My PH told me to shoot behind the shoulders, midway up on a broadside shot. It worked; dead under the tree.

You should follow the instructions of your PH because, after all, he will have to do the follow-up if you wound it.

USMC Retired
DSC Life Member
SCI Life Member
NRA Life Member

Posts: 730 | Location: Maryland Eastern Shore | Registered: 27 September 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of buffybr
posted Hide Post
My PH told me to shoot my Leopard on the shoulder. I did and it worked perfectly.

NRA Endowment Life Member

Posts: 1635 | Location: Boz Angeles, MT | Registered: 14 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I was told to aim at a spot and let er rip. LOL
Just kidding.

BH63

Hunting buff is better than sex!

Posts: 2205 | Registered: 29 December 2015Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Imagine a tennis size ball between his shoulders.

Aim for it, regardless of angle.

That is what I do, and all my leopards died with one shot.

Look at my hunt report at the top of this forum.

That is the leopard I shot last year.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68685 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post