New
Find
Notify
Tools

Your occupation?
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
veterinarian; auburn65

Posts: 50 | Location: Greatfalls,Montana USA | Registered: 09 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
30 years ago, when I started pistol shooting (informal plinking) I was in the Air Force in Civil Engineers. Then after I got out, I was a student (not much time for reloading then, or for shooting, or money either, but I kept my gear and guns). Then I was a singer-songwriter until I started working in Accounting/Bookkeeping/Administration/Computers. Now I have a little more time. But I find myself spending more time on the comptuer than loading or shooting (of course, it is pretty cold to shoot right now, in Anchorage).

Once you have figured out how and chosen your powder, bullets and loads, reloading is pretty easy and doesn't take that long.

Guys who shoot competitively and go through thousands of rounds a month spend a lot more time than I do shooting and reloading. I only do a couple hundred rounds a week at most and 2/3 of those are rimfire.

Lost Sheep

Quite a cross-section of occupations, eh? Are you going to compile the results? Could be an interesting summary, of course, if you have the time.

posted Hide Post
Dairy Farmer all of my working life, nice big farm and I can shoot whenever I want and pee outside

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Selfunemployable forestry consultant, RETIRED.
I run a few cows around the paddock every day in the hope that it will delay dementia.
PERHAPS IT'S TOO LATE hilbily

Posts: 1374 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 10 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Ingvar J. Kristjansson
posted Hide Post
Editor of a tourist attraction magazine...

Posts: 510 | Location: Iceland | Registered: 15 May 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Mariner for 20 years, then offshore oil field crane operator, offshore logistic supervisor since 1987.