Find
Notify
Tools

BBQ Beef Sandwiches
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
G'morning, all -

I've got a 4 or 5-ish pound chuck roast (rolled and tied) that I want to barbecue in my 22.5-inch Weber Kettle, then shred/pull for sandwiches. I have a Vortex for the Kettle, which is in my opinion quite a useful accessory:

http://madhunkymeats.com/VortexManual2.pdf

I've never done this before, but have done many, many pork shoulder roasts for pulled pork barbecue, so I have a decent idea. My plan is to have it on the grate to the 160- to 165-degree range, then foil or pan it until it is finished. I'll then let it rest, then shred it. I don't normally foil or pan, but it seems to be the right thing to do here.

I started start by slathering with a mustard/Worcestershire mix, then rubbed with Tatonka Dust from Owens BBQ, which is really great for beef:

http://owensbbq.com/tatonka-dust--brines.html

I've got apple and Pecan wood chunks for smoke, and decided to go with apple, since pecan is hard to get up here.

As for spritzing, I may go with a Kentucky-style blend of Worcestershire and apple cider vinegar (50/50), or maybe just with beer or hard apple cider, I haven't decided yet.

When I get the beef shredded, I figure to mix with some sort of barbecue sauce until the beef is the right consistency. I'm leaning toward a historic sauce from Mississippi that I am rather fond of:

http://foodsoftheworld.activeb...sauce_topic3574.html

We'll see if I'm in the mood to make a sauce from scratch or not.

Currently, I have the bottom vent of the Kettle just barely open (just a sliver), and the top vent wide-open, opposite where the coals are currently burning. Hopefully, we're on our way to some good eats!

Posts: 51246 | Location: Chinook, Montana | Registered: 01 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post