New
Find
Notify
Tools

load data/Pressure signs
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
im just getting into reloading and was trying to figure out what load data to go off. im using aa and super-x hulls and win primers and wads but i was going to use ADI powder, in the ADI reloading book it has data for aa hulls with win primers and Gualandi wads will these wads make any difference to load data?
Which leads us to my next Question of pressure signs in shotshells i know in rifle shells the primer flattens out but what are the signs in shotshells?

Posts: 64 | Location: australia | Registered: 29 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Snipe Hunter
posted Hide Post
With a rifle you are dealing with much higher pressure. I believe you would get into the danger area with a shotgun long before primers start flattening out. Some people experiment with reloading components and others don't. One of the first things you will read when opening up a manual is never to substitute any component. Someone else might tell you that if you are using data near the SAAMI max for pressure it isn't safe but if you are using data for a low pressure load substituting one wad for another one designed to be used with the same payload won't hurt. Personally there are too many companies online selling commonly used powders that are compatible with AA and Claybuster (which you can substitute for AA) wads for me to take a chance with the other components. Best of luck.

SH

------------------------------------
I admit there are advantages in game of every type;
But I've never heard of beast or bird to excel the twisting snipe.
Nicholas Kane, Louisiana, 1880

Got Snipe?

Posts: 83 | Location: Out in some godforsaken marsh | Registered: 21 March 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have ALWAYS read to use only the shotshell components included in the recipe. No substitutions allowed.