New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cold Weather Slug POI shift
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This morning I shot the rifles and slug gun I hunted this year before I clean them and lock them up. The rifles all had the same POI as every other time I've shot them this fall (before each hunt) and groups were in the .6's. The slug gun dropped 4.5MOA with no windage shift and the groups doubled in size to about 3MOA. All fall it has been consistent. This is the first time I've shot it in the cold.

The rifles are consistent, reliable performers and are fed good handloads using stable powders. I got exactly what I expected from them today. I shoot the slug gun with Lightfield Hybrid EXP or handloads using IMR SR4759 or IMR 4227. This is my first year with a slug gun and I did not get the result I was expecting.

When these guns were zeroed the environment was as follows: 69deg F, 29.70 inHg, 72% humidity.

Today: 34deg F, 29.75 inHg, 68% humidity.

I didn't bring the chronograph so I don't know if the ammo slowed that much in the slug gun or if it has to do with the barrel shortening just enough to change the harmonics (both the gun and ammo were put in the car a couple of hours before so they were at same temp as the environment). Or a combination of the two.

I haven't hunted with the slug gun in cold weather and I'm glad. That is enough of an elevation change to cause a miss past 100yds. Anyone else experience this?

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
If you search posts I have amde in this foruum, you will find that I've spent more time and money developing slug loads than all my rifles combined.

As you are finding out, it can be quite frustrating.

What I would suggest is to look up the Tar-Hunt website and read their section about shooting slug guns, it is very informative.