New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do you clean?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I used to shoot my 54 cal TC renegade at least monthly but got tired of the cleaning ritual every night and have not shot it or any other muzzleloaders for about 15 years. I have recently aquired a 62 cal Zephyr and a 32 cal traditions and was wondering if anyone had any way of cleaning that was easier than hot water on the bathtub.

What is the easiest way to get one clean? I was told long ago to never use solvents on a muzzleloader and rather than ask why as a kid i just said ok and have used nothing but hot water.

Thanks for the help.

Matthew

Posts: 383 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 29 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Matthew

I am not expert but this is what i have been doing since i started shooting blkpder about 8 months ago, In between every few shots i run a ballistol damp patch followed by a dry one. I found the butch's patches hold up the best and work the best.

After my range session i take ballistol pour a small amount down the barrel and run a patch up and down while my finger is over the nipple(creating a vacum effect. pack up and when i get home. I bore brush the barrel and the rear chameber mine has a smaller chamber which is 38 cal. Run a patch and using an air compressor blow air into the nipple holding the rod it just helps remove any loose particles.

Patch out the bore with ballitol and i am done. I was never a fan of the hot water method so this is what works for me. But I use the triple seven powder and find the real stuff requires a bit more work. Also another great oil for the the final patch is eezox and does not effect blackpowder. Hope this helps

Matt

Simply, Elegant but always approachable

Posts: 354 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: 24 May 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post